0224161649a

I told you yesterday that spring had sprung – and i knew because – i saw a fly and a bull ant on the floor by the fireplace – and a tickling on my arm as i wrote this piece – not fifteen minutes ago – a tiny spider had invaded my space.

There were gnats and mosquitos and other tiny things – i can’t imagine – sharing the same air that a week ago – floated crystals of lace like water – light wings – each a drifting masterpiece – floating down or streaming sidewise – within crystal clarity – between the flakes – air that was mine to breathe while witnessing – the beauty of each and every living thing stripped bare of all distractions –

Now – shared with all the little things – that come alive in spring –

My life more complicated now – no longer distraction free – avoiding their lines of intersection – between the search for whatever they’re searching for – inside the air i’ve been breathing in – i’ve shared with no one –

The soil fecund now … i do not use that word lightly … stored snow or frost grown permanent – five or six ‘moon go ’rounds’ ago –  where all these beings lived within – their clear winter amber – quick frozen within gathered humus or crystalline within the muck, the eggs of their existence – captured when sun’s light slowed to dim orange – when trees released their bed covers – to darker still intensity – holding captured cold stillness within their sleeping spaces – during gestation’s time to lie in wait – released when warm sun returns to free the life within those spaces –

Not sleeping having never been alive (as such) – waiting to emerge from broken water – released by whiter light – these creatures that surround me now – within my sight – that feed upon my light – that touch my flesh – that share with me my breath – my choice bereft – the world no longer stripped bare of all confusion -black and white and clean and fresh – they’ve stolen my serenity !

