continued …  The explosion almost knocked me off the bench. At the precise moment the explosion rocked me i saw one of the most amazing things i had ever seen in my life … 

DSC_0871

The only way to describe it .. the bird disappeared!

One moment it stood with its feathers ruffled, the next it fell to the earth with such pure gravity and force that it sunk between the time frame of my mind! That’s the only way I can describe it.

I’d never seen anything die, especially like that.

I looked down at the crane.  A mound of gray feathers had appeared where the crane stood before its life was gone.  Taken away by some do-gooder with an adult frame of mind.

I looked at the bird.  I pictured it throwing a frog into the air and catching it, watching it move down its gullet, wondering what it felt like for the frog.

Its head and beak lay in profile now against the sand.  The black iris looking cloudy and gray, covered by an opaque film.

That dead eye that had been alive now attached to a dead body covered by a mound of gray feathers lying flat against the sand waiting to be absorbed into the ground.

I made up my mind right then and there that I would … continued

