continued … When the back half of the anvil came to rest an 8 foot strip of vintage pine wood flooring popped up splintering down the middle with a loud crack.

At that point the dominos began to fall one after another after another after ……..

When I turned to look at Green, I noticed the right front leg of the flimsy table was buckling inward.  “Shit,’’ I thought, “That anvil is  heading south and there isn’t  a freekin’  thing I can do about it.”

I grabbed the edge of the table but, it’s hard to convince a 250 pound anvil not to go somewhere when it has already made up its mind where it wants to go.

As the anvil slowly picked up speed, I thought about how pissed off Green was going to be when it landed on the old wood floor.

When I couldn’t hold on any longer the anvil slid off, pointed end first, dropped to the floor wedging itself between the ends of two wood strips.  When the back half of the anvil came to rest an 8 foot strip of vintage pine wood flooring popped up splintering down the middle with a loud crack.

In all the excitement, I jumped back but i guess, a little too forcefully.

I felt something graze against my shoulder and butt. When I turned the big set of chimes were in flight headed toward the top of third chair tuba player Ron Smith’s, knee.

I heard a crack, Ron wailing in pain and a cacophony of musical notes  from the chimes when they landed on the floor.

At the same time Ron screamed in pain he sat forward but the momentum of the tuba ….. continued …

