Alabaster Dreams

The moon appeared, round and yellow

bright then dimly lit

behind cloud formations,

drifting slowly north

along the shoreline

with Great Lake’s whisper.

…..

When lights strung high

behind the trees across the road moved

I realized a ship was docked and waiting

for another load of alabaster

taken from the ground up here

somewhere beyond the

northern pinewood forests.

…..

And that ship made bell sounds

and a passing train blew its horn

while cool night air touched the skin

below the cuffs of my t-shirt,

before I walked back into my tree where

I wrote these words upon waking,

drawn from sleep by

alabaster moon’s bright light seen

through ancient pines

standing tall in the northern woods

Great Lake’s whispered songs soft and gentle

within the light of  reflected dreams

once again drawing near.

…..

When sleep crept back upon me

the moon appeared, round and yellow,

bright then dimly lit behind cloud formations,

drifting north along Great Lake’s shoreline

her music wrapped within the sight of moonlight dreams,

sleep already drawing upon me

as I rolled over

and fell

back into

the other

world.

