… I WAS HOPING TO TUG ON THE HEARTSTRINGS OF THE COPS BY CONVINCING THEM I WAS A GOOD KID WHO SPENT MANY SUMMERS UP THERE AT THE SAME COTTAGE MY GREAT GRANDPARENTS OWNED, WAS  RETURNING FROM AN 800 MILE HITCHHIKING JOURNEY TO MARQUETTE (TO SEE MY FAVORITE FOOTBALL COACH ) AND NEEDED A SAFE PLACE TO SLEEP.
I MUST HAVE APPEALED TO THEIR SENSE OF charity … CONTINUED 

images-3After the laughter and backslapping died down a woman wearing a khaki uniform and a gold badge led me along a corridor where,  jangling a set of keys on a round key chain big enough to fit over her head she unlocked the first cell on the right, jangled them again to lock me in, asked if roast beef with mashed potatoes and green beans sounded good for dinner then, returning 20 minutes later slid a plastic tray piled high with meat and potatoes and TWO CARTONS OF CHOCOLATE MILK through an opening between the bars of the cell.

After dinner I collapsed on the gray blanket covering the cot in my cell which was the last thing I remembered.

The next sound I heard was the sound of jangling keys followed by the sight of another plastic tray piled high with scrambled eggs, hash brown potatoes, bacon and two cartons of white milk.  (No way was I going to complain about the milk!)

We both laughed when I told the cop if  I ever needed to gain a few pounds I’d just get myself thrown in jail.

By eight o’clock after more back slapping and laughter I said my goodbyes and was back on the road headed south toward Saginaw and with any luck, home before nightfall.

