… giving control of the shipping lanes between Lake Huron and Lake Michigan to whoever occupied it during the Revolutionary War, when the sound of the the ferry’s powerful engines surged in reverse waking me from my dreams.  continued … 

It was an exhausting day of hitching the 165 miles from Mackinaw City down the  Lake Huron coastline where rides were few and far between, past Rogers City,  Alpena, Harrisville and Oscoda before arriving at East Tawas around nightfall where I planned on spending the night at the new jail I had watched being built during visits to the family cottage on the shoreline of Lake Huron over the summer.

images-2I was hoping to tug on the heartstrings of the cops by convincing them I was a good kid,  who spent many summers up there at the same cottage my great grandparents owned  who was  returning from an 800 mile hitchhiking journey up to Marquette  to see my favorite football coach and needed a safe place to sleep.

I must have appealed to their sense of decency.

continued …

