I was conflicted …

should i return the money or go on a spending spree … ?

…..

i could have gone to Brazil or

Paraguay or even

Chechnia but …

i couldn’t find my passport … !

…..

i looked all over the place … !

…..

i got so tired of looking i said

‘screw it!  i’ll stay home and watch the

Ali Foreman fight on t.v.’ … !

…..

… the fight was cancelled which

really pissed me off … but,

i found a Looney Tunes cartoon festival which was

even better … !

i wasn’t two minutes into the first

Woody Woodpecker cartoon when

the door bell

rang …

…..

… two guys told me they were from the

IRS …

they asked me if i knew a certain woman

on the 5th floor …

i told them i did then …

“whew!”  i said,

”i thought you were looking for me … !”

…..

they started asking me questions …

…..

they said they liked me and everything but

they had to take me to

headquarters for

processing … !

…..

the younger guy on the left smiled,

“It won’t take long …”

the older guy, on the right

stared hard at me …

his eyes slightly squinted …

the left to right movement of his head …

 barely visible …

…..

i asked if i could take a few

things with me …

the guy on the right said, “no … !‘’

the younger guy smiled and said, ‘’why not?”

the older guy said … ”well, ok …

… but make it quick … (!)

we haven’t got all day!’’

…..

i grabbed my Detroit Tigers souvenir program (when they

beat St. Louis for the world series … )

my favorite t-shirt and

an extra pair of

jeans …

…..

that’s when i discovered my passport

(‘’oh shit,’’ … i thought .. “there’s my frickin’ passport … !!”)

under my underwear where i

put it for safe

keeping  … !

…..

after i locked the apartment door …

(as we were leaving)

i said, ‘’…  what about the woman on the fifth floor?’’

they looked at each other … then

back at me …

the older agent who stared at me

smiled and said,

’’she’s an IRS agent … we were

meeting her for

lunch … !’’

…..

the younger guy who earlier had smiled

barely shook his head from side to

side …his eyes

piercing

mine …

