robert_kerr_schoolI never would have imagined I’d  be a third grade teacher at the same elementary school I attended as a kid, until one day toward the end of summer after I graduated, I heard there was an opening at the school for a third grade teacher.

……………….

I figured why not?  I wasn’t working and my B.S. degree had to be worth something, didn’t it?

…………….

How strange it felt being interviewing by the same principal who gave me permission to bring a live raccoon to school way back in fifth grade.

……………..

What was even stranger was, finding myself in the teacher’s lounge eating Weight Watchers salad with my fourth, fifth and sixth grade teachers.

……………..

 I was taken aback by the innocent beauty of those thirty pairs of eight year old eyes looking at me with complete adoration my first day in the classroom.

……………..

 I figured my students must have thought I was more like one of them compared to the other teachers, most of whom were matronly one room country school house teachers who came in from from the surrounding countryside to teach at the new school.

……………..

Not being an Education Major, I gave my students what little I knew about teaching.  I taught by example. But I had great examples growing up.

 ……….

All of those elementary school teachers I had lunch with, taught grades K-6 every day in those one room school houses.

……..

So, I grew up being taught by master teachers.

continued …

 P.S. By the way that picture is the school I taught at!  Robert Kerr Elementary School … fancy that … . ks

