images-5

She faced downward, her spine curved,

one side of her face drooped …

he held her hand,

wiped the drool from her mouth

with a white handkerchief …

…..

i used to watched them two or three times a week where i ate my lunch

under the covered picnic area

at the city park along the Peace River …

…..

 they seldom spoke …

their hands spoke for them …

…..

one day i observed her more closely …

i pictured her as a slender,

beautiful young woman …

…..

i wondered …

was she a good dancer …?

did she have children …?

i imagined the two of them kissing with youthful passion …

…..

I realized how difficult it is to describe true love …

I decided …

true love can’t be described …

it’s a vibration between two people …

…..

was I seeing true love …?

…..

as i sat thinking,

she turned and looked at me,

seeming to sense

my presence …

…..

the left side of her mouth

curled into a half smile …

…..

were her eyes telling me she understood

my thoughts …?

was she answering my question …

“Yes, young man, you are seeing true love.”

…..

how did she know my thoughts …?

…..

she faced her husband …

he inclined his head, listened then

rose and pushed her wheelchair

to the opposite side bench …

…..

why did they move, i wondered  …?

did she think she had answered my question

and it was time to move on …?

was she too tired to continue our

“silent dialogue” …?

…..

after they moved I continued watching them

their backs facing towards me …

they spoke softly then, turning towards each other, smiled and nodded

in agreement …

…..

were they telling each other secrets …?

did she tell him a young man flirted with her …?

…..

or maybe she remembered when

they first fell in love

and wanted to relive

the experience

one more

time …

…..

that was the last time i saw them …

