images copy 36

 I had the ultimate freedom of every boy

during summers but only after

work was done …

so I worked every day for at least an hour

before

ranging freely about town from

in search of other boys congregated,

looking for one more player

to round out an even number

for a game of tackle football

or …

 I rode to my best friend’s house

where we

met up and headed outside town

two or more miles over black top and gravel roads

past open fields to creek water flowing under

the wooden bridge where I

searched through its gravel bed …

… flecked with pieces of mica

flashing golden in the sun …

for anything living that I could

hold in the palms of my hands

my eyes boring deeper and deeper into life’s details

until it seemed I could almost see the

light within …

