... a split second before contact i saw the top half of the number on his jersey the outline of his helmet his head barely lowered his eyes wide with fear … continued …

 The-best-top-desktop-american-football-wallpapers-2-hard-tackle-629x471

 i narrowed my

vision

focused on my

target …

the area below the

sternum where

both sides of the rib cage

join

below the

heart  …

…..

at precisely the right

moment i

unleashed

the

coiled power of my

legs …

…..

i felt myself spring

forward …

…..

my right shoulder

sunk into the soft

spot below his rib

cage …

 …..

 at the same instant, i heard a forceful

“whoof” as the

air

was forced out of his

lungs …

…..

my head rested against the

right side of the his

ribs …

…..

my right arm wrapped around his

back just above his

waist …

…..

my right hand

clenched into a fist …

 pulled the runner

more

tightly into my

grasp …

…..

when my

shoulder sunk into his

stomach

 i opened my

eyes …

…..

green grass, grains of the

soil,  part of a white

chalk line

blurred across my

vision  …

…..

simultaneously i

wrapped my other arm

around his left

side

lifted him off of his

feet

drove the mass of my

body forward

then

… with the help of gravity …

downward

completing the full

180 degree arc of the

tackle … continued

