– 8 –

if you really care, 
here’s what finally 
happened …
continued …..

images-10

after the laughter died down, 

I played it real 

cool … 

…..

i stretched, like i had just 

finished putting the 

finishing touches on my 

Ph.D. thesis and was 

satisfied with the 

results …  

…..

i stood up … 

(… very nonchalantly of course …)

(being careful not to 

knock over a nearby 

wastepaper 

basket … ) 

and

 walked by  Carol’s 

desk … 

(passing in front of all three of them) 

toward the edge of the 

door

fixated on when

i had

all those thoughts about  

Alexander Graham Bell …  

…..

I dropped my 

paperwork into the 

Inbox, 

(attached to the 

door) … 

 turned around and before anyone could 

say anything

I said, 

‘Hey, I gotta go. 

I left my car 

running …  

have a great day …  ! ‘

…..

‘Oh! and

carol (!) … 

call me if you’ve got 

an assignment for me 

O.K (?) …

i promise i’ll check my 

messages … ’ 

and walked 

away …

…..

before the door closed i 

turned my head and 

looked back 

into the 

office …  

…..

the three of them were 

looking at me with 

smiles on their 

faces …  

jennifer

(the aggressive one)

looked like the 

girl from the 

Exorcist 

the way her 

head  

was twisted 

around …  

…..

i was trying really hard to 

continue being 

nonchalant …  

.…..

i heard the door 

click 

behind me and 

finally (!)

i was 

free … ! 

…..

I pictured myself 

walking away .. 

limping (of course)

because of that 

stupid hip of 

mine …

…..

i wondered if they were 

looking at me through the 

window 

thinking 

what a ‘’Clyde’’ I 

was …  

….. 

*****

to tell you the 

truth …

sometimes Life seems like a 

never ending series of 

funny episodes …   

…..

but

a lot of the 

time 

it’s a  

pain in the ass …  ! 

….. 

*****

the end of this episode was 

pleasing

enough … 

….. 

i was happy to get the 

hell 

out of there 

unscathed …

able to go 

back to my 

car without 

 beating up on 

myself  

(… like i usually do …) 

for doing something really

stupid …

…..

i’m not even sure if 

what happened wasn’t really 

stupid …  !

….. 

but i

 guess as long as they 

all had

smiles 

on their 

faces …

everything

worked out 

just … 

fine … 

Fini … 

