– 3 –

if I had the balls to say 

” … hey, i’ve gotta go, i left my car 

running … “

i’d probably be just as 

capable of saying, 

” … hey, i gotta go, I’ll see you guys 

later … ”  

continued … from -2- 

images-4

 so anyway, the first thing I did when I

got into the

office 

was

get stuff out of my

message

box …

…..

then, I sat down at the

table

to check my paper work

one more time

and

read a memo about

continuing

education …

…..

jennifer, linda and carol were

sitting on the

other side of the table where I

sat

facing carol

who sat behind her

desk …  

…..

they were discussing which one of them wanted the

stray cat

they’d been feeding  

outside the office

for the past 

two

months …

….. 

while I read the memo Carol told 

me 

she called yesterday for an

assignment

and

since I didn’t

call back

she had to

cancel the

order …

 … she said she left me a message …

…..

i didn’t say anything

so

the room got

real

quiet …

…..

i think that

within the silence of the 

room

she was

questioning 

… by implication …

why I didn’t return her

call …

…..

i just sat there scanning the

memo  …

…..

i thought … 

was i supposed to be feeling

guilty or

something … ?

…..

….. for christ sake, you’d think it was

common knowledge

by now that

I

rarely check my

answering machine … !

…..

doesn’t a person have the choice 

not

to answer answer their

answering

machine … ?!

…..

what if something

earthshaking

happened so I couldn’t

check the 

thing … ?!

…..

i wasn’t going to let them get

the best of

me …

…..

so I kept reading 

or

maybe I muttered something like,

‘’well, you know how it goes, 

blah, blah, blah …. ”

when

suddenly 

the woman named Linda … 

( … who’s pretty aggressive … )

says

 “why do you think phones were 

invented … ?!’’

continued … 

