images-1

You know … DEATH … !

Death and i have brushed 

shoulders many 

times in my

Life …  

for example …

…..

One day i found a loaded

deer rifle at 

home in the 

closet down 

stairs:  but, i didn’t know it was 

loaded … !!

….. 

i pulled the cocking 

lever back and 

forward like the Rifleman did on 

t.v. then 

pointed it … 

…..

my brother looked down at the 

barrel pointed at his 

stomach … 

…..

one half second before 

pulling the 

trigger i 

wheeled around to shoot a 

bad guy sneaking up on 

me  …

…..

the force of the 

explosion drove me 

against the closet 

door …. 

 the bullet 

punched a 

hole in the third 

step,  leading 

upstairs to our 

bedroom … 

…..

carpet on the 

steps covered the 

bullet hole … 

i put the rifle where i  found 

it …

…..

my mind is a 

blank after 

that … i think i 

blanked it 

away … .  

…..

it took five years to get 

caught …

(when) … 

…..

Carpenters found a bullet in a 

wall, remodeling the 

garage into a 

kitchen … 

…..

they scratched and 

scratched their 

heads and so did 

He (my dad) … how?  

why? 

when? …  they

asked …

…..

perplexed, at 

dinner that 

night, He told us the 

mystery …

why?,  how?, 

when? … a 

bullet … ?!!

…..

i broke down … told them the 

truth … ‘’i found the rifle in the 

closet … ,’’ (I feared for my 

life while  telling

them  … .)

She said, “but your brother is still 

alive!” …

…..

i had  never 

seen them so 

happy … !!

…..

i guess you’d call this the  

story of  ‘death and

life’ …

…..

The End 

