images copy 37

I hadn’t seen my married friends for quite a while.

I like them because they aren’t afraid to laugh at stupid humor.

In fact they seek it out in conversation and by their actions so,  as they move through life funny situations are always  happening to them which means they are a lot like me so, we have a lot in common.

I hadn’t seen them for at least a year until that Saturday,  about a week ago.

I sat in my car at a stop sign that day … the second car in line …  when I realized a commotion was taking place on the corner to my left, between two people …  the driver of the car in front of me and another man I’ll call Scooter Guy who sat on one of those three wheeled scooters that elderly people ride all over town.

At first I thought the driver was a friend of Scooter Guy since it appeared that he was helping Scooter Guy put a flappy little sign into the ground advertising a giant yard sale.  I thought they might have been having one of those joint yard sales, until the driver turned,  walked away from Scooter Guy, got into his car and drove away in what appeared to be a state of exasperation.

I sensed cars backing up behind me so I moved the Mustang closer to the stop sign but I couldn’t take my eyes off of Scooter Guy who, sitting on the scooter, was attempting to jam the stick attached to the sign into the ground with just his left arm when …  the combination of his weight shifting to the left and the back wheel dropping off of the black top into a 12 inch rut,  caused the scooter to flip onto its side pinning half of Scooter Guy’s body beneath it.

More …

